Our Annual Conference

Our annual conference brings together some of the most successful global figures, the leaders of Scotland’s fastest growing companies and those transforming our major public organisations. 

The 2016 conference focused on the theme of ‘Disruption’ and was a phenomenal coming together of entrepreneurial leaders across Scotland and beyond. Over 280 entrepreneurial leaders joined us on the day with world-class speakers sharing their knowledge, experience and insights. One of the many highlights was Professor Bill Aulet, MIT and visiting professor at University of Strathclyde challenging Scotland to be more ambitious with supporting our entrepreneurial leaders. The conference delegates also heard how entrepreneurship in the public sector is transforming the NHS and Scotland’s Canals.

Rod Mountain is an ENT cancer surgeon working for NHS Tayside. He leads on Design & Innovation for the first Academic Health Science Partnership (AHSP) in Scotland and is introducing a fresh mindset of design led thinking within the healthcare sectors. He acts as a creative facilitator, stimulating engagement between the sciences, arts and industrial partners in Tayside. While, Steve Dunlop, Chief Executive of Scottish Canals, shared how The Helix project, a £43m development has transformed 350 hectares of under-used land into a vibrant new parkland, canal hub and world-class visitor attraction featuring the biggest pair of equine sculptures on the planet – The Kelpies – that are making an increasingly significant contribution to Scotland’s economy.

Book Now

2016 Conference Summary

Other speakers on the day included: Mike Welch OBE, Blackcircles; Lesley Eccles, FanDuel; Entrepreneurial Scotland’s Emerging Entrepreneurs of the Year 2015, Julie Wilson and Amy Livingstone, Cheeky Chompers and Entrepreneur of the Year 2015, Mike Loggie, Saltire Energy; Karen Marshall, Bridge of Weir Leather Company; Brian Duffy, Aurum Holdings; Ron McCulloch, JJJ International; Jim McColl OBE, Clyde Blowers; Bob Keiller, previously Wood Group; and Ellis Watson, DC Thomson.

The Fellows of Entrepreneurial Scotland were also announced at this year’s conference. The first cohort includes: Chris van der Kuyl, Ann Budge, Sir Bill Gammell, Martin Gilbert, Ann Gloag, Lord Willie Haughey, Les Hutchison, Sir Tom Hunter, Bob Keiller, Hugh Langmuir, Jim McColl OBE, Professor Sir Jim McDonald, Roy McGregor, Alan Revie, Lord Robert Smith of Kelvin, Sir Brian Souter and Gareth Williams.

The Fellows have agreed to be active ambassadors, sharing their experience and supporting members of the Exchange network. The first topic on their agenda will be how to support leaders of organisations to gain the skills and experience they need to scale-up.

Our 2017 conference will be held at The Gleneagles Hotel on 4th May 2017 and tickets will go on sale soon via our Events section.